Handmade Gentleman’s Necktie

image

This necktie is made from a pattern I made from scratch on the laptop, I know I know it’s just a necktie just straight lines right!…. But for me this is amazing and could be the start of my own pattern making πŸ™‚

image

Pattern all printed out and ready to see if it works with fabric.

image

image

image

Joining the two pieces together fabric and lining.

image

Making the tips of the tie.

Fold with right sides together and pin 1cm from the folded edge.

image

Unfold and place right sides together with the middle pinned bit standing up.

image

image

Sew across the two raw edges leaving the middle bit unseen.

image

image

Fold in half and sew across the tip.

image

Trim raw edges and turn right side out.

image

image

Press with the iron and repeat with the other end.

image

Overlock or zig~zag stitch the two long raw edges.

image

Fold in half length ways right sides together and Sew all the way along the over locked edge.

image

Place a safety pin on the small end of the tie and push it through the inside turning it the right side out.

image

image

image

image

Press your tie with the iron making sure you get a nice point to each end. :)🌸🌼

Beautiful

Becky

10 thoughts on “Handmade Gentleman’s Necktie

  1. I used to make ties for my older brother when I was in high school. I would be making myself a dress and he would ask if I had enough to make him a necktie. Many years later, at my daughter’s wedding, my brother and nephew wore ties that I had made.

  2. This looks great. Thank you for the tutorial! I made a tie once but lost the instructions and have not been able to get the tricky folding and stitching part of the points quite right ever since!

Leave a Reply

